About Me

I have been dealing with migraines for 11 years.

It started out as just headaches, maybe 1 or 2 a week. I would miss school every now and then, but my doctor at the time didn’t take me seriously. As the years passed, the headaches became more frequent. I began to self medicate with anything over the counter I could find. Excedrine, tylenol, ibuprofen, drinks with caffiene in them, BC powder; if it was a painkiller, I would take it.

3 years ago, the headaches became an everyday thing. I noticed a blind spot in my eye that became permanent. I took BC powder daily. It only got worse as time went on.

Today I have a migraine every single day. It can range from just pressure and throbbing, to pain that sends me to the hospital. I have all sorts of visual disturbances, including visual snow, double vision, blind spots, and hallucinations. I suffer from tinnitus, which is so loud that it affects my ability to hear. I have difficulties cognitively, like confusion, aphasia, and daily brain fog.

Here’s just a list of things I suffer from at any given time:

Migraine with aura

Sensitivity to light & sound

Extreme pressure when moving head (like bending down)

Dizzyness

Fatigue

Brain fog

Confusion

Aphasia

Dissociation (feeling seperate/floating above one’s body. A lot of the time I feel like I am watching myself do things, especially driving)

Derealization (feeling like the world/experiences aren’t real. Like it’s all a dream. I have trouble knowing if things are real or not.)

Scintillating scotoma (permanent)

Visual snow (permanent)

Persistent after images (especially when driving)

Halos around objects (can be white or opposite color of the actual object)

Visual trails and after images (palinopsia)

Abnormally large amount of floaters

Tinnitus

And at the moment I think I am also suffering from some depression.Which does make sense, since having a chronic illness is no picnic. Living with most of thee symptoms daily is hard. I don’t think I’ve ever had an easy day in over 3 years.

2 thoughts on “About Me

  1. I also suffer from chronic headaches and migraines. It totally sucks. I have many of the symptoms you described but the one the resonates the most with me is derealization. I constantly have to rely on others memories of what happened and what didn’t. It happens alot when waking up more than once in the morning. At least recently. Im sorry you have to deal with so much pain from one spoonie to another. Gentle hugs, Patricia.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for the comment! I am always happy to meet someone dealing with similar symptoms as me. I feel less alone now. Whenever someone starts a sentence with “Hey, remember when…” I know I am in trouble. I am so sorry you are suffering as well. Wishing you more good days than bad đŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

