Botox Round 2

This past Thursday (March 24th) I had my second round of Botox treatment for migraine!! All 31 shots this time, about 9 months after my “trial” round. It’s too early to feel any benefit.

What I’m dealing with right now is a whole bunch of side effects from the injection sites.

migraine-injection-sites
These are the basic injection sites, a total of 31 injections.

The injections themselves wasn’t too bad, at least this time I didn’t feel like I was going to pass out! But let me tell you, those spots on the side of the head, above the ear, and the very top of the neck, HURT. Now I’m feeling some tenderness in my scalp at the sites. Brushing my hair pulls on them and it hurts! Which is unusual for me because I have never been “tender headed” as my hairdresser puts it. My forehead just feelsย weird and I hate it.

It’s an unusual process because you can actually hear the needle when it penetrates the skin and feel the cold medicine be pushed in.

Maybe in 2 weeks I will have an update for any relief I am getting. Temporarily I have decided to keep a headache journal again. I am already scheduled for more injections in 3 months, but if I want any after that, I have to beg my insurance and prove that it helps significantly.

3 thoughts on “Botox Round 2

  1. I had the botox injections done about 3yrs ago..definitely a bad experience for me. I had an allergic reaction to the whole thing.
    I’m glad it seems to be working out for you so far.
    I’m set for DHE Infusion this week. We shall see how that goes.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww I’m sorry to hear that! So far I have had no bad reaction, but no good results either. It’s just evened out. Good luck with your infusion, Johns Hopkins is the best! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  2. I find the injection sites hurt for a couple days.. until the botox disperses. I hope you find that it works. People seem to be in one camp or the other.. it works or it doesn’t. I found the longer I used it, the mores it lessened the intensity of my migraines.. until I had a car accident and also tried a Cefaly.. You finally got the full dose.. and are on the right schedule. You get used to the forehead feeling… And BTW.. you look years younger with no wrinkles ๐Ÿ™‚ bcuz you have no forehead movement.. ๐Ÿ™‚ My son is still do fantastic with his week long DHE infusions.. So I know there is more out there. I’ll just keep trying and hoping. Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

