Suddenly Stopping Cymbalta

I am suddenly stopping Cymbalta, and it is not by choice. I went to the pharmacy to pick up my refill last night, but I left empty handed because my insurance won’t pay for it until the 12th. Somehow I don’t understand. She was telling me the instructions on the bottle stated I should be taking one pill a day. But I’ve always been taking 2/day since I last saw my neurologist. How did I not run out of pills in August then?

I have no idea. But from last night (Sept 6th) until the 12th I will have no Cymbalta to take. I have read all about this withdraw, including a lovely thing called Cymbalta Discontinuation Syndrome. I made it through an extremely difficult Effexor withdraw, but that was with tapering down. In this case, I’m going from the highest dose of Cymbalta, to zero within one day.

I am very conflicted. I like the idea of having to take a medication everyday to control my symptoms and prevent pain. But I have a fear of relying on medication every day as well. It comes from the days when my endometriosis was poorly controlled and I was taking birth control pills like candy. I would double up on pills (based on my doctors recommendation) for a short amount of time to try and prevent all the pain and blood. I would double up so much, that when it came time to get a refill from the pharmacy, it was too soon, and the insurance wouldn’t cover it. And I would cry when they denied me because I didn’t know what I was going to do. Letting the period come meant extreme pain, not eating, not sleeping, and hospital trips where I wasn’t even given anything for the pain. Those pills were the only thing stopping all that from happening, and I wasn’t able to get them when I needed them. And that sounds all too familiar right now. At least with birth control pills, there is no withdrawal symptoms. I am wishing future me luck with the next 6 days.

When I finally do get my Cymbalta back, I think I am going to half my dose anyway. Having no neurologist at the moment makes me free to make shitty decisions.

Leave a Reply

