Still Months Away from a Neurologist

When my neurologist left Johns Hopkins, I was distraught at the fact that I had to find a new one. I knew it would take time. And I’m usually a very patient person, but I’ve been without pain relief for too long now. But I scheduled a new patient appointment with another neurologist anyway and was determined to wait my 6months.

This month is January. My appointment was supposed to be February 1st, which was no problem! I could wait a month, that would be fine. I will just do my over the counter routine and it won’t be too bad because it’s only a month!

Surprise! They call to cancel my appointment. My doctor is now doing inpatient only that month, which is so not anyones fault and I don’t blame them, but I’m still upset. The earliest they could schedule me was June 1st. As in 6months from now JUNE 1ST! Now, THAT I don’t know how I’m going to make it to.

I do have an appointment with the Nurse Practitioner near the end of this month, but I’m not 100% sure what she can do for me? Can she prescribe me new medications? Can she recommend me for the nerve burning procedure? I just need SOMETHING that will work.

I’m going to make a list of everything I want her to cover with me and bring it so I won’t forget anything. So far that list looks like:

  • Botox?! is it worth/too expensive!!
  • Nerve Blocks work but are too temporary
  • Can she get me into the pain clinic for the nerve burning?
  • Stimulator trial?
  • plz just tell me to hang in there

Linda White, please don’t fail me now!

Leave a Reply

